Locking Down a Tablet Device for Summative Assessment Delivery

About: This article explains how to lock down a tablet for secure test delivery. See the 'SurpassDelivery and Tablet System Requirements' article for information on system requirements.

For high-stakes testing, you can use a device’s lockdown mode to ensure that candidates are locked into the SurpassDelivery app and prevent them from accessing other applications, such as web browsers. If a candidate attempts to take a test that has been set to require lockdown mode on a device that has not been locked-down, the following error message will appear:   

 
The table below outlines the process for locking down different types of tablet device (Apple iPad and iPad Mini, and Google Android).  

Device type Setting up lockdown mode Setting further restrictions
Apple iPad and iPad Mini
Use Guided Access to lock candidates into a single app on the iPad, and control which app features are available
during a session.

In Guided Access you can:
  • Disable areas of the app screen. Circle any part of the screen you want to disable, using the handles to adjust the area.
  • Disable app controls. You can turn off ‘Motion’ to prevent the device switching from portrait to landscape view during a session. You can also toggle ‘Sleep/Wake Button’ to ‘off’ to prevent candidates from putting the device to sleep.

To set up Guided Access:

1. Go to Settings > General > Accessibility > Guided Access.

2. Turn 'Guided Access' on.
  
3. Set a passcode that controls the use of Guided Access and prevents someone from leaving an active session.
  
4. Turn ‘Accessibility Shortcut’ on. This lets you triple click the ‘Home’ button to enter Guided Access at any time.

5. Use ‘Display Auto-Lock’ to set how long it takes the device to automatically lock during a Guided Access session.


To start a Guided Access session:

1. Open the app you want to run.

2. Triple tap the 'Home' button to launch Guided Access.

3. Select ‘Options’ and adjust the settings for the session. Select ‘Done’ to save.

4. Select 'Start'.


To end a Guided Access session:

1. Triple tap the 'Home' button.

2. Enter the Guided Access passcode.

To turn off auto-correct and spell check:

1. Go to ‘Settings’ > ‘General’ > ‘Keyboard’

2. Set the ‘Auto-Correction’ toggle to ‘off’

3. Set the ‘Check Spelling’ toggle to ‘off’
Google Android
Use a restricted user profile to prevent candidates accessing other applications on the
Google Android tablet.

To make a restricted profile:

1. Go to the 'Settings' menu and select 'Users & accounts’ > 'Users’.

2. Choose 'Add user or profile' > ‘Restricted profile’.

3.Toggle the applications you do not want the user to be able to see to ‘off’.


To use a restricted profile:

To switch to the restricted profile, select the power button to put the tablet to sleep then wake it again.
Alternatively, pull down the quick settings menu and tap the current profile picture to switch to
another user.
To turn off auto-correct on an Android tablet:

1. Go to ‘Settings’ > ‘Language and Input’ > ‘Keyboard
and Input Methods’.

2. Select the ‘Settings’ icon (near the Android
keyboard).

3. Turn off ‘Auto-Correction’.

Feedback and Knowledge Base