How to Remove an Item Score in Rescoring

About: This guide will explain how users can remove the score from an item for computer-marked questions in the Rescoring screens of Surpass. Rescoring is a feature that enables users to eliminate the effects a bad item may have on the candidate's score. Rescoring works at a test form level. Changing answers to these item types means that candidates who may have answered incorrectly according to how the item was created in Item Authoring will now gain marks they may have missed.

Step 1: Access the Rescoring Event
Navigate to the Rescoring screen in Reporting. In the first screen you see there will be a table with the existing events that have been created. You can either open an existing event from this screen or create a new one, if needed, by using the drop-down menus along the top of the screen.

Once you have found or created the Rescoring event you would like to edit, click Open on the far-right of the screen. This will then take you to the Edit Mode.

Step 2: Remove the Score from an Item
Select the item you wish to edit from the Items Delivered table and then select the ‘Remove Item Score’ button.

A new dialog box will open, which will ask you to confirm that you are happy to remove the score from an item. You will need to select the ‘I understand the consequences of removing a score from an item’.

Once selected you will be able to Save.

Note: If the test form you are editing in the Rescoring event has a scale score mapped to it and you remove the scoring from an item in that test form, you will need to update the scale score and grade boundaries in the Tests Delivered screen.

Step 3: Apply your changes to the Test Form
In order for the edits you've made to have affect, they need to be saved overall in the Edit Mode. You must first select 'Preview Changes' and once the changes have been previewed, Save Changes will become available.

Depending on the amount of changes made during the edit, it may take a while for the system to process them. You can leave the Rescoring screen while the changes are being processed and return to it later. 

Note: If you are unhappy with the edits that have been made, the item can be reverted back to its original state by selecting the 'Revert Item' button in the Edit Mode

Feedback and Knowledge Base